1st Amendment



The first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution are referred to as the Bill of Rights.

The First Amendment, known as the Free Speech (also Freedom of Religion) Amendment, contains three clauses, as follows:

[Clause 1, the “Establishment Clause”] Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or

[Clause 2, Freedom of Expression] abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or

[Clause 3, Right to peaceful and lawful association and assembly] the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

Following are Supreme Court cases that examine these rights.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *